Previous Entry Share Next Entry
'West of Memphis' Soundtrack Includes Nick Cave, Bob Dylan, Patti Smith
floating_houses wrote in pattismith

Legacy Records has released the track listing for West of Memphis: Voices For Justice,
an album of music from and inspired by the new documentary about the
West Memphis Three. The album contains tracks by a number of
artists – including Eddie Vedder, Henry Rollins, Natalie Maines, Marilyn
Manson, Dave Navarro, and Patti Smith  who became involved in the fight for exoneration of the Arkansas teenagers imprisoned for the murder of three young boys.

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis composed the film's original score, which

appears on the album as a suite. Many of the songs covered on the album,
including a Mumford & Sons track performed by Johnny Depp's band
Tonto's Giant Nuts, figured prominently in the life of Damien Echols,
one of the film's producers, as he sat on death row for the murders.
Other tracks, like Patti Smith's recording of "Wing" and Eddie Vedder's
"Satellite," developed from various benefit efforts for the case. 


Log in